Martina’s Birthday and Haggis

It seems that Martina and I time things just right on all our adventures to be celebrating a birthday – I had mine in Cambodia and she recently had hers in Scotland. It’s fun to have a special day and do something out of the ordinary.

It also dawned on me that I had known Martina, and have been a part of every one of her birthdays since she turned 19. Crazy! We’ve been through a lot since then, and we don’t get to see all the same old friends, but I feel so lucky to have known Martina for so long and that I can be a part of her life. She’s so awesome.

To accentuate her awesomeness we went to Hard Rock Café for dinner (Hard Rock has become a sort of tradition for us) in Edinburgh. Oddly enough, this was the first Hard Rock I ever ate at – back in 2007 when I came to Edinburgh with my Aunt Heather and my younger sister – so it was neat to be here with my wife.

Looking at the menu I decided to ask about the local legendary (a burger with a local twist) and wouldn’t you know it, they put haggis on the burger and top it off with an apple-whiskey sauce. How could I refuse? For the record, Martina has been far more interested in trying haggis than I have, so if I hadn’t gotten the burger she would have.

This was my first time eating haggis, and I looked at it as a baby step towards the actual thing. Putting it in a burger and covering it with sauce masked any strong haggis flavour. I did taste some spices that are not typically found in a burger and they certainly were not in the sauce, so it must have been the haggis.

Fair fa’ your honest, sonsie face,
Great chieftain o’ the puddin-race!
Aboon them a’ ye tak your place,
Painch, tripe, or thairm:
Weel are ye wordy o’ a grace
As lang’s my arm.

Ye Pow’rs wha mak mankind your care,
And dish them out their bill o’ fare,
Auld Scotland wants nae skinkin ware
That jaups in luggies;
But, if ye wish her gratefu’ prayer,
Gie her a haggis!

-Robert Burns

Happy birthday Martina!!! 

Leave a Reply

