Recess Part I: Paris

Pretty Paris – what more romantic setting could you ask for? Sitting under the Eiffel Tower eating crepes, baguettes, French fries, French toast, and an assortment of other Parisian delicacies is as close to ideal as you can get. Right?

Well, we did go to the Eiffel Tower – but we did not eat those things under it, and yes, I know two of those things on the list do not technically belong. Honestly — and maybe there’s just too much hype —  but I didn’t find the city very romantic. Maybe the rain and limited accessibility had something to do with how I was feeling…

However, Paris was delightful. I know there are some among you who might take my Freedom-land Passport for saying such things, but it’s true.

See what’s in her hand? Near Notre Dame

We saw most of the typical sights – the Eiffel Tower, Arc de Triumph, and Notre Dame; we also visited the Louvre, the Muse d’Orsay, and the Sac de Coeur. I think the only thing I didn’t see that I really wanted to see was Versailles. Next time.

We did so much I could write a few posts on Paris, but if you want that much detail we should sit down over a cup of cocoa or some Thai food and just talk. Instead, I’ll share some highlights:

Eiffel Tower – it really was as cool as everyone says. We went to the second level, no wheelchair access beyond that, and had a fantastic view of the city. The sun had already set, but at night I can see why it is called the City of Lights. It was beautiful. Probably the most romantic part of our whole Paris adventure. It was quite windy, and it started to rain, but still romantic.

Sac de Coeur – Martina really wanted to go here and though I had never heard of it I was glad she had. The Church is set up on a hill and is quite beautiful. We took a little hill-tram to avoid all the stairs – I know, I know we wimped out – and found ourselves in the middle of a farmers market. People were selling wine, champagne, cheese, sausages, wine, sweets, bread, wine, and pastries. At the very top, nearest the church, two men were singing and playing guitar. It was awesome.

Like I said, I could go on, but maybe another time. Our recess adventure isn’t over yet, so stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

