Fellowship Update

Day 17: An old picture, and not the whole group, but this is CKS

Day 17: An old picture, and not the whole group, but this is CKS…on a boat in the Tonle Sap!

I always seem to neglect writing about the reasons I’m traveling, and this particular adventure is sponsored by the Center for Khmer Studies (CKS).

So just for review: the program gives 5 American students, 5 French students, and 5 Khmer students the opportunity to come together for 6 weeks and learn more about Cambodia and Southeast Asia while teaching us how to perform research. It has been a great experience thus far; my knowledge of Cambodia and it’s culture has grown exponentially. I wish I could say that about my language…but I’ve been inspired to keep working hard at it!

I’m about halfway through the the fellowship at this point and I can’t believe it’s going to come to an end. My research is coming along, slowly, but steadily and I really hope that it turns out great. I’m looking at disability rights and the affects that religion and government plays on obtaining these rights. I’ve never really studied this stuff before, but it has been fascinating, and maybe one day it will make a difference for the people of Cambodia.

I’m torn about my experience now that I’m close to being done: I’ll miss the adventure when its all over, but I look  forward to being back with Martina and our soon-to-be little one.

One thought on “Fellowship Update

  1. Honey, I can’t express how proud I am of you. This topic is of course very near and dear to my heart. I really hope it produces great results and like you said, make a difference for the people in Cambodia. Good luck with your research and I’ll see you in 3 weeks!!!!

Leave a Reply

