Wrapping Up

Well, I’m back home. It only took 31 hours from the time I left Phnom Penh to arrive safely in the Salt Lake Valley. My final moments in Cambodia were more than memorable. Here’s a quick recap of my final moments in Cambodia:

P1070928_2With my final full day in Cambodia I went back to Bayon with my friend Rachael and we rode an elephant – fulfilling an item on my Impossible List. The ride was a bit bumpy, but definitely worth it. I felt like a Cambodian king atop the mighty beast, looking down on all the ‘little people.’

My last day in Cambodia was a sad day. Fortunately, it was made a little less sad by a final lunch with friends. We had a great lunch at a Cambodian buffet. Ultimately, my last day in Cambodia finished the way my first one did: the first two CKS students I met (Mey Kaing and Hoy Hongry) were the last two that I said goodbye to. It was also the same members of my wife’s family who picked me up and dropped me off. It all seemed just so poetic somehow.

The whole group

The whole group

I also wanted to review the progress I made on my goals for Cambodia, and admittedly I didn’t do as well as I would have liked. For starters, my volunteering efforts did not go as planned – being an English teacher just didn’t pan out. I didn’t go running nearly as often as I would have liked, but I did do a fair amount of walking. My knowledge of Cambodia and its issues grew exponentially, my language got bit better (if I do say so myself), and I made new connections with great people. However, and most importantly, I put together a solid effort at research, and while it may not be publishable I learned a great deal about conducting research and what I need to do to be a better researcher.

My time in Cambodia was great, but I’m definitely happy to be back with my wife and family, getting ready for our next adventure!!!

Leave a Reply

