Adventure Movies

One of my great passions is film – watching them, talking about them, and I wish I knew more about making them. Films can take us to places we’ve never been, or even imagined. The best films can inspire us, make us to reflect, or motivate us. I like to think of movies as the gateway drug into my wanderlust addiction. As a kid I saw adventurers travel to exotic locations and I wanted to do that, and even today movies make me want to get my adventure on. So I decided to devote a post to some films that have fed my desires to travel (in no particular order).

 Indiana Jones – this is the quintessential adventure movie. The ultimate adventurer. This guy is rugged, he travels the world, speaks several languages, and is named after a dog. This guy is my adventure hero, but isn’t he everyone’s?

 

The Secret Life of Walter Mitty – while the movie is nothing like the short story (that’s a discussion for another day) it was all Martina and I could do to not hop on our laptops and book tickets to some new destination. Walter Mitty is just a regular guy who finally steps out of himself and finds adventure. Like me, he’s just a man living his life, trying to make sure it doesn’t pass him by.
Lord of the Rings/The Hobbit – not exactly the travel most of us would have in mind – and giant spiders are a huge turn-off for me – but regardless, there are probably few films that compare to the adventure that each character has in these films. Not only do the characters see new and exciting things, but in many of them we see growth and change. That’s what travel can do to a person, it can change you and reshape your views of the world.

Up – perhaps the most touching Disney movie ever. When I see the love that Karl and Elie have for each other, I see me and Martina – especially their mutual love of adventure. I seriously don’t know where I’d be without Martina. And more importantly, I don’t know where I would go without Martina. She is my travel buddy and my best friend. Squirrel!
The Bourne Series – so this series is not exactly a travel series, but if my passport was filled with stamps and visas from all the countries that Jason Bourne has been to, it would be one mighty happy passport. Knowing several languages and martial arts wouldn’t be too bad either.

The Motorcycle Diaries – this film is one of the more thought provoking ones on my list. As the film states, “Let the world change you, and you can change the world.” Regardless of your feelings towards Che Guevara, and how he tried to change the world, this movie reminds us that traveling should change us; travel should cause us to grow. And maybe one day I’ll get to go on an epic motorcycle journey.
Star Wars Series – long ago in a galaxy far, far away… people were traveling at lightspeed and using their T-16’s to bullseye womp rats. Oh, and they were fighting galactic wars throughout numerous star systems. And don’t lie. If that Star Tours ride at Disney was real, you know you’d be booking your trip to ski the wintry peaks of the planet Hoth. Don’t we all sometimes feel a little like Luke – wanting to escape our mundane life for something more exotic?

The Muppet Movie – the original Muppet gang gets together for a good old fashioned road trip to make their dreams come true. Like any good adventurer Kermit meets others like him and forms friendships, over comes hardships, and follows his heart. There are some classic songs, and what road trip is complete without some singing?

These are just a few of the films that have inspired me to travel, and if you haven’t seen some of them, I hope you get the chance. If you have any suggestions for me, leave your list in the comments below. These adventure movies should help hold you over until your next grand adventure!

Leave a Reply

